Kundli Matching

A vedik birth chart explains everything that a person is composed of. What exactly and How, is in another article.
For thousands of years, Hindus have relied upon Vedic astrology when it comes to making life's most important decisions. And matching the Janam Kundli of the bride and groom prior to marriage, is one of them.

A life consist of numerous departments and behaviours that one possess. Out of which, the behaviours that hold accountable to sustain a happy married life are taken into consideration. Some of them needs to be similar and some of them needs to be dis similar, corresponding to their level of importance they are weighted from 1 to 8 summing 36.

1. Varna reflects the basic skills, abilities and the personality of the person (1 Point)

  • Brahmins or Priests - Karka (Cancer), Vrishchika (Scorpio) and Meena (Pisces)
  • Kshatriyas or Warriors - Mesha (Aries), Simha (Leo) and Dhanu (Sagittarius)
  • Vaishyas or Merchants - Vrishabha (Taurus), Kanya (Virgo) and Makara (Capricorn)
  • Shudras or Laborers - Mithuna (Gemini), Tula (Libra) and Kumbha (Aquarius)

It is believed that the Varna (based on Moon Sign) of the Groom must be equal to or higher than the varna of the bride to avoid ego clashes. But understanding discards this, so only one point is given to Varna Matching.

2. Vasya means establishing control over another person. In ancient days vasya koota was used in determining whether a husband will have influence on his wife or not. In this modern time vasya koota is considered to check whether there will be a compatible and dedicated relationship between the couple or not. (2 Points)

  • Manava or Human - Mithuna (Gemini), Kanya (Virgo), Tula (Libra), the first 15 degrees of Dhanu (Sagittarius), Kumbha (Aquarius).
  • Vanachara or Wild – Simha (Leo).
  • Chatushpada or Quadruped – Mesha (Aries), Vrishabha (Taurus), the second 15 degrees of Dhanu (Sagittarius), the first 15 degrees of Makara (Capricorn).
  • Jalachara or Water – Karka (Cancer), Meena (Pisces), the second 15 degrees of Makara (Capricorn).
  • Keeta or Insect – Vrishchika (Scorpio).

These are the five components of the food chain, and the rules of vasya matching is that if both the bride and groom have the same group, Vasya is considered good and 2 points are given.

If one person's group is Vasya to the other,for example, if the bride's group is Chatushpada and the groom's group is Manava then 1 point is given. Chatushpada, Manava, and Jalachara groups are Vasya to the Vanachara group. Chatushpada, Jalachara, and Keeta groups are Vasya to the Manava group. Jalachara signs are the food of the Manava signs. Chatushpada signs are the food of the Vanachara sign.

If one person's group is food to the other, for example, the bride is Jalachara and the groom is Manava then 1/2 a point is given. And if neither the bride or groom is Vasya to the other, no points are given.

3. Tara is used to calculate the health and well-being of the bride and groom after marriage. (3 Points)

The 27 nakshatras are divided into 9 Tara groups with three nakshatras in each. These 9 groups are Janma Tara, Sampat Tara, Vipat Tara, Kshem or Chhem Tara, Pratyari Tara, Sadhak Tara, Vadh Tara, Mitra Tara and Ati-Mitra Tara.

Points are allocated by counting from the bride's birth star to that of the groom and then dividing this number by 9. The same is then done from the groom's birth star to that of the bride. If the remainders of both calculations are an even number, then the match is auspicious and 3 points are given. If only 1 of the remainders were a even number, then 1.5 points are given. If both remainders were odd numbers then no points are given.

4. Yoni indicates the physical and sexual compatibility between a couple, based upon their nakshatra by the representation of animals and their categorization as Swabhava, Friendly, Neutral, Enemy, or Sworn Enemy (4 Points)

  • Ashwa or Horse - Ashwini, Shatabhishaj
  • Gaja or Elephant - Bharani, Revati
  • Mesha or Ram - Krittika, Pushya
  • Sarpa or Serpent - Rohini, Mrigashira
  • Swah or Dog - Ardra, Moola
  • Marjarah or Tom/Cat - Punarvasu, Ashlesha
  • Mushika or Rat - Magha, P. Phalguni
  • Gau or Cow - U. Phalguni, U. Bhadrapada
  • Mahisha or Buffalo - Hasta, Swati
  • Vyagrah or Tiger - Chitra, Vishakha
  • Mriga or Deer - Anuradha, Jyeshtha
  • Vanara or Monkey - P. Asadha, Shravana
  • Nakula or Mongoose - U. Asadha, Abhijit
  • Singha or Lion - Dhanishtha, P. Bhadrapada

5. Graha Maitri is used to examine the strength of friendship between the couple. This is achieved by comparing the relationship of the sign lords of the moon in the chart of the bride and groom (5 Points)


6. Guna shows the resemblence of the basic nature of a person. To the Devas/Rakshasa/Manushya (6 Points)

  • Devata or Devine - Ashwini, Mrigashira, Punarvasu, Pushyami, Hasta, Swati, Anuradh, Sravanam, Revati
  • Manushya or Human - Bharani, Rohini, Aardra, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni, Poorvaashadha, Uttaraashadha, Purva Bhadrapada, Uttara Bhadrapada
  • Rakshasa or Demon - Kritika, Aaslesha, Magha, Chitra, Vishaka, Jyeshtha, Moola, Dhanista, Shatabhisha

7. Bhakoot is used to verify the overall health, welfare and prosperity of a family after marriage. It is believed that Bhakoot Dosha can affect the intimacy between the couple and cause delays in pregnancy. Bhakoot Dosha is based upon the distance or number counted from the bride's rashi to the groom's rashi and vice versa (7 Points)

If the combination is 1/1, 1/7, 3/11 or 4/10, then 7 points are given. If the combination is 2/12, 5/9 or 6/8 then Bhakoot Dosha is formed and no points are given at all.

8. Nadi is to check the genetic compatibility of the bride and groom to ensure they are capable of producing healthy children. There are three type of body elements Vata / Pitta / Kapha, and the simple rule over here is that the couple must not be of same element as it will produce a child with too much of the same element that can cause health problems for the child (8 Points)

  • Adi or Vata - Ashwini, Aardra, Punarvasu, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Jyeshtha, Moola, Shatabhisha, Purva Bhadrapada
  • Madhya or Pitta - Bharani, Mrigashira, Pushyami, Purva Phalguni, Chitra, Anuradha, Poorvaashadha, Dhanistha, Uttara Bhadrapada
  • Antya or Kapha - Kritika, Rohini, Aaslesha, Magha, Swati, Vishakha, Uttaraashadha, Shravani, Revati
Adi or VataMadhya or PittaAntya or Kapha
Adi or Vata088
Madhya or Pitta808
Antya or Kapha880

As the Points weight increases, it becomes of more and more important.
For instance, if the Groom is from Dev Gana and likes to help the neighbours, but the wife is from Rakshas gana and doesn't like this. There are high possibility that in a long run quarrels may arise.

If they are not Good Friends, which actually means that the sign in which their moon is placed are not friends (their thought processes consider anti things as priority) so the probabilty of not coming upon a common decision is more likely to happen because their perspective to life is opposite.

In a similar manner, other gunas have thier roles as well.

6 July 2019

Mohit Mrinal